Collection: Development 1

CIP, collection brief

As I have now started designing my book I know it’s gonna contain a lot of white space and digital stuff and the overall look will be very minimal as that is how I design and I want the book to reflect me. I bought a book a couple of weeks ago called “MIN” which is a collection of projects by different designers and companies done in a minimal style and I found it really inspiring. I like how design can be really strong using as few elements as possible and thinking about that I have decided to not have something elaborate on my cover. I could never decide on one final design and they don’t reflect me as I would like. So I am making my cover a solid red with the title in white and that red will also flow through the rest of the book, functioning as chapter dividers. As the projects throughout the book will be so different in style and colour, I want the red to be a consistent calming factor that binds it all together.

However, I don’t want my book to be too digital as that doesn’t reflect me either and because the overall look will be so strict in a way I thought a good way to loosen it up a bit could be to incorporate some handmade type. I got really inspired by the book “Dear Data” for this as it is so playful in its expression and really have that handmade vibe without making it look sloppy. Thinking about this page (below) I made some tests of my own.

dear data

A spread from the book Dear Data by Stefanie Posavec and Georgio Lupi

So I started writing with black ink on a rough textured paper with a hard brush to get some interesting strokes and that painted vibe and I thought I could scan these in, remove the background colour and make the type red and have the titles spread over two pages each as an intro to the next chapter.

type

My own hand painted type, by Lisa

 

One thought on “Collection: Development 1

Leave a Reply

