Pastiche 1560: Development 3

CIP, pastiche 1560

Deciding I want to create my pastiche digitally I went back to a screenshot I saved months ago when starting this project. It’s taken from the website of A2/SW/HK and is the visual identity they did for an architecture firm. It’s not visible in this picture but the black negative space of some of the letters that by themselves create abstract forms, move up and down, sort of floating in space.

a2swhk

Work by A2/SW/HK

This movement and the shapes to me really breathes Calder but in a more “modern” way if you want to call it that. The shapes have a weightlessness about them that embodies the whole way Calder looks at form and how sculpture does not have to be static. Nothing is pulled down by gravity but rather living its own life- moving in a random way and every shape has its own personality. This is what I am basing my video on.

 

Leave a Reply

