Collection Brief: Research 2

CIP, collection brief

So far, I’ve only thought about the contents of my book and how I will create the layout. The cover, to me, wasn’t something I gave any time considering. But after the markmaking workshop I had this week it’s definitely something I am going to think about more. The cover is in a way how the book introduces itself and similar to how you reflexively smile to a person you’ve just met while shaking their hand, I want my book to smile at you and for you to smile back. The cover also sets the tone for how the rest of the book will be and it has to be interesting and want to draw you in. For example, when I buy books the cover plays a huge part. If the cover is too ugly I’m probably not even going to pick the book up. Basically, the cover is important.

Some outcomes from the workshop; creating textures and patterns representative of me and two cover mock ups using the patterns I made but cut up and glued down in a different way. I like the vibe both these covers have and might even continue working on them to create my final one.

Work by Lisa

 

Covers, work by Lisa
Leave a Reply

