Get inspired

Artists and Inspiration
Finn Kidd is an illustrator working in London making bold and colourful work with a pop art feel. Here he talks about how he tackles new projects and how he finds his way out of a creative block. 
finnfloorcolour

Finn, photo by Lisa

 

What is the first thing you do when starting a new project?

I just write down everything that comes to my mind and then I’ll try as many of my ideas as possible to figure out what might or might not work. For my collection project for example, I played around with many ideas but ended up right where I started with my first one. Sometimes you just have start with something to see where it goes.

How do you find inspiration?

Lots of reading, movies and looking up other artists and their work. I find I get inspired by different things for different projects and I have a lot of things going through my mind all the time, especially at night- that’s when I have many of my ideas. But also going for walks and taking notes of stuff I see.

Sketchbooks by Finn Kidd

Is that also how you would get out of a creative block- walking and reading?

No, I go and have a drink, haha! No but really- it’s a great way to get out of a creative block because you relax and believe more in your ideas in a way. I also enjoy sitting on the bus or just looking at things. Observing. That helps.

Has there been any project last year that you’ve enjoyed more than the rest of them?

Yes the moving words one and especially because it was so hard to come up with an idea. When I finally knew what I wanted to do it became all the more fun because of that struggle.

And are you pleased with the outcome?

I am, this was my favourite thing out of anything else we did the whole year. Challenging, but I learned so much. It is also aesthetically closest to what I want to do and how I want my work to look like and that may also be why I like it so much. I can take that and the style I made it in and apply to other things in the future.

Crashing Waves by Finn Kidd 

 

See more work by Finn Kidd on his blog or website

Twitter: @finnnkiddd

Instagram: @finnnkiddd_illustration

 

Leave a Reply

