Fanzine frenzy

Core Workshops

I’ve recently been introduced to the amazing world of fanzines (the non-professional publications created by fans for fans) and I can’t get enough. I love how there seems to be no boundaries when it comes to layout and everything goes. As I am a layout nerd myself and love to play around with how you place text and image, I find this really inspiring! Most fanzines have a very distinct cut and paste, DIY feel to them which allows for some really creative solutions for layout and is something I myself would like to explore more. I found some zines on the world wide web worth mentioning:

Teeny Tiny Ramones Zine

Scroll down this blog to find this one of a kind zine made from a post it! I find this hilarious! So tiny! Tiny Ramones!

http://murom.tumblr.com/

Total Bummer Zine

The total bummer zine shows peoples frustration when interacting with technology. Very relatable. We’ve all been there. Frustration in 8 bit binary illustrations is nothing short of excellent.

http://www.littlepaperplanes.com/product/4129-total-bummer-zine

Kurt Cobain was Lactose Intolerant and it Killed Him

Just.. what? This makes no sense and that’s what makes it so beautiful.

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/158343831/kurt-cobain-was-lactose-intolerant?ref=related-1

My own zine will be about humans crazy milk consumption and here are my ideas:

The title of the zine is “thinking it & saying it” and I wanted my work to be related to ethical and political questions, making you pause for a moment and think. I started out thinking of cutting up an image of a cow and shoving down the parts in a teacup, drawing a human head on a cows body and a cow breastfeeding from a woman. None of them felt right though and I really wanted to make a zine that uses words more than image so I ended up writing a poem (the bottom right page) and now I have to think about how I’m going to create the actual text to make it visually interesting. I want to use mixed media for this, maybe combining monoprinting with collage and photography or hand drawn type but I haven’t decided on anything yet and I think I will have to experiment before making up my mind. I’m excited about this project though and want to see where it leads.

Side note: I also came up with the phrase “Agriculture Vulture” when I thought about doing a zine involving the effects of agriculture on nature, which I really like! I’m going to save this and think of a project for it later.

 

 

Leave a Reply

