Screenprint

Core Workshops

Two weeks ago, I did a screenprint. A technique I’ve tried before but way back in 2008 and I can’t say I remember much of it. I love working with buckets of paint, big canvases and doing physical work with your hands so screenprinting should in theory appeal to me. Unfortunately, it didn’t. While the process itself is okay, I find the outcome to be too restricted. Sure you can play around with different screens, colors, overlapping the image with other images for amazing reults etc. But Photoshop can do that too with the added feature of erasing ones mistakes. I suppose some of the charm in screenprinting lies within the fact that it can be flawed and come out wrong and the result would still be interesting and even more personal, but I found it to be quite stressful when the outcome wasn’t what I wanted it to be.

Anyhow, we were too many people in the studio to really experiment with our prints so I thought I’d have some fun with mine at home instead.

orignoter

 IMG_633t1e

The first picture is the original print and the others I’ve some fun with, just looking at different outcomes by adding some of my own pictures and changing some of the colors. I decided all the pictures should have the same theme- jazz because the woman in question is a singer and I miss my saxophone. I had fun doing this and the two bottom ones are my favourites!

Leave a Reply

